A tribute to Dads…

Ever since we were young we always dreamed about what were gonna be when we grow old. Yah I also dreamed of becoming an astronaut like everybody does… hehehe I could still remember the movie ET when the boy rode his bike and fly unto the moon… I was so amazed that I tried it myself going to the top of our second floor house with my small kiddy bike then off I go down to the stairs and down to the canal near our house.. That was such an awful experienced not to mention loosing my two front teeth at such an early age… hehehe
I played basketball when I was in grade two and also dreamed of becoming the likes of Mr. no.23 if you know what I mean… but never really materialized the only achievement I had was being a champion in our CE team way way back in my college days.

I remembered a story that I really had to share to all of you.

There was a boy who dreamed of becoming part of the school varsity team. He played so hard and practice hard that somehow made quite an impression of the team’s coach. So because of his determination and work ethic he easily made the team’s roster. He has a supportive and loving dad that even in his practice his dad was there to support him. But because he was a newbie he was never given a chance to play in any of his team’s games. But he never gives up and his dad was always there in all of his games even though his minutes are limited. Until he reached on his senior year his minutes improved but there was no significant playing time given to him but his dad was always there cheering him up and encouraging him to play harder. One day his dad got ill and was suffering from a cancer which became malignant. The season was slowly ending and find themselves in a elimination game which was very important for them because a win might give them a clean ticket to the finals.
The day before the elimination game the boy’s dad died. His coach wanted him to rest because of all the emotional things he has been through it would not be proper to let him play on this state.
On the day of the game the team was down by 20 points at the end of the half. So it was merely impossible to catch up considering their fire house opponent which was the seasons favorite team. The coach was hopeless finding answers to all the mismatch they have. While they were on the locker room they were all surprised to see the boy on his uniform. Then the boy went to his coach crying and begging to let him play. The coach was touched and gives the boy the go signal and the fact that they are down by 20 points might as well give the playing time to the boy and somehow could heal his depression while losing his no.1 supporter …his dad…
Game time… the boy scored a lay-up made a steal and convert a 3 point shot. He was playing so well and he played good defense against taller and muscular opponents. In just 5 minutes of the 3rd quarter the gap was narrowed down to only a point. Then the scoring barraged didn’t stop there. The coach was so amazed and couldn’t believed what he was seeing. There were double teams and triple teams but he always find a way to score. He was like a boy possessed with fire on his eyes. Then the team won not to mention in a very convincing fashion. The boy was a judged the best player of the game and everyone was awed and full of appraised. Then the coach said to the boy “ you played well kid why now? We could have used your talent before” the boy with tears in his eyes hug his coach and told him “Coach my father was my greatest fan. He was there when I was down and he was always there to encourage me to play harder. He always goes to all my games and all my practices. You see coach my father was blind he never sees what I was doing but he believes in me.. and now that his gone. This is gonna be the first time he will see me play. I want to proved to him that because of him I am a better player and I am a better person.”

We all have our potentials and eventhough sometimes we loose faith and started to question ourselves always remember that we always have our dad up above guiding us helping us when everything seems impossible. He mold us into his likeness making us a better person with a determined heart.

Leave a Reply

